Hello World!

My first exposure to Mozilla technologies was in 2005 when I was assigned to write a spam filter for mainstream mail clients including Thunderbird. It was the first time that I had to deal with XPCOM, XUL, JavaScript and Mozilla framework in general. I am remembering now that I had mix feelings. Some frustration mainly due to lack of documentation (or out-dated documentation), lack of sample code and lack of guidance – I think there were not so many TB extension writers back then. And some amazement by the innovative ideas built into these technologies. Since then, I have used Mozilla framework one way or another, and appreciated more. Unfortunately though, I haven’t had chance to involve in Mozilla community much – mostly because of being new to open source concept in general.

As a twist of fate, recently, I am employed by Mozilla Messaging; it’s the new subsidiary of the Mozilla Foundation. I must say that I am very excited about the opportunity to work with other Mozilla engineers, community, and to contribute their cause. My main focus will be Thunderbird email client and as an engineer my duties will cover code refactoring, design improvements, documentation, bug fixes, helping the community, and anything necessary to move this project further.

From now on, I am going to write about my Mozilla experience on this blog. Along with the technical stuff I am working on, I am also going to write about other Mozilla related topics, and maybe about some personal stuff too.

So let’s be it; Hello (Mozilla) World!

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Hello World!”

  1. Jason Says:

    This is great news Emre, for many reason. It’s a great opportunity for you to work on a monumental OSS project and help take the initiative to the next level. The project will defiantly benefit from you getting in to the code and pounding some bugs and overdue features into submission. Also it’s great to see an OSS project of this calibre come to Vancouver; big thanks to David Ascher for making the magic happen.

Leave a comment